3rd Foster House in Negros

The project

Objective: new Foster House to protect young girls who are victims of sexual violence on the island of Negros in order to help them rebuild their lives and find their place in society

Building on its experience and successes on the island of Panay, CAMELEON now wants to extend its support to more children in distress and reduce cases of child abuse at the regional level. This is why the association is planning the opening of a 3rd CAMELEON Reception Center to protect child victims of sexual violence on the island of Negros.

Each year, the House will welcome and host 20 girls aged 5 to 17, all victims of sexual violence. Protected and accompanied, they will stay 3 to 4 years on average time to rebuild and regain confidence in them.
Located near the schools, the Foster House will allow children to recover the carelessness of childhood, to realize their dreams, to go to school, to participate in sports and recreational activities and to build their future.
A specialized team will provide them with medical and psychological care. They will also receive legal aid if they decide to sue their abusers.

Total budget of the project : 1 000 000

The island of Negros is next to the island of Panay

You want to support this project

By offering your financial support and/or your skills, you are helping CAMELEON build a functional space and a pleasant place to live for these girls who are victims of sexual violence. You also support the association in the comprehensive support it offers them.

Why the island of Negros?

The island of Negros is one of the poorest areas of the Philippines, where sexual violence is widespread and little prosecuted or resolved in court. There is an increasing number of violence against women and children.

A real need

No institution or association offers a as complete care as what CAMELEON does. In view of this, the project of implantation on the island of Negros has matured. In 2014, a feasibility study was conducted to assess needs and opportunities. The findings of this study attest to the real need and support of local associations and authorities, particularly thanks to the good reputation of CAMELEON, already known in the West Visayas region.

Bring children closer to their families

The opening of a new Foster House will bring beneficiaries closer to their families. In fact, 30% of the girls from the two Panay Island Foster House come from the island of Negros. The distance complicates the work of social workers at different levels: monitoring of families, reintegration of girls in their community, monitoring in post-rehabilitation and finally support in the judicial process.

Support more victims

By creating this new Foster House in Negros, CAMELEON intends to support a growing number of young girls abused by relying on its various programs and the know-how of its staff. With its 20 years of experience, the association will duplicate in Negros its Rehabilitation programs as well as its advocacy and awareness actions on Children’s rights already in place in Panay.

The context: 1 rape all 53 minutes

In the Philippines, 70% of the victims of rape are children which a majority of young girls. Region 18, where the project is located, has the highest rate of cases of sexual violence on children. Most of them, however, are never reported for fear of family dishonor.

The construction

CAMELEON started the construction of the new Foster Home on the island of Negros in March 2018. The city of Silay offered us a plot of 1 hectare : the city is near the provincial capital Bacolod and is near schools. The Reception House will include several infrastructures :

  • Building 1 : 2 dormitories for children, 1 room for staff, 1 living room, 1 dining room and 1 kitchen, 1 study room with library, 1 therapy room and game room, 1 laundry and 1 garage for cars.
  • Building 2 : the staff offices, 1 meeting room, 1 clinic for the medical care of the children, 1 room for the drivers and 1 small dormitory for the volunteers who will come to lend a hand to the team.
  • Annex building : the guard station for guards who will ensure the safety of children in the Foster Home.

Our partners


The opening of a Welcome House on the island of Negros is actively supported by several institutions and foundations, as well as by the Philippine authorities:

  • the Province of Negros
  • Philippine social services DSWD from Negros Occidentale
  • the city of Silay
  • the Zonta Club Makati Ayala
  • the Zonta Environs
  • the NIF Foundation
  • the Foundation Banco of Oro (1st Bank of the Philippines)
  • the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Luxembourg
  • Humanitarian Cooperation Luxembourg
Cameleon Association

3ème Maison d'Accueil à Negros

Le projet

Objectif : une nouvelle Maison d’Accueil pour protéger des jeunes filles victimes de violences sexuelles sur l’île de Negros afin de les aider à se reconstruire et à retrouver leur place dans la société.

Forte de son expérience et de ses succès sur l’île de Panay, CAMELEON souhaite aujourd’hui étendre son soutien à davantage d’enfants en détresse et réduire les cas de maltraitance sur enfant au niveau régional. C’est pourquoi l’association prévoit l’ouverture d’une 3ème Maison d’Accueil CAMELEON pour protéger des enfants victimes de violences sexuelles sur l’île de Negros.

Chaque année, la Maison accueillera et hébergera 20 jeunes filles âgées de 5 à 17 ans, toutes victimes de violences sexuelles. Protégées et accompagnées, elles y resteront 3 à 4 ans en moyenne le temps de se reconstruire et de reprendre confiance en elles.
Située près des écoles, la Maison d’Accueil permettra aux enfants de retrouver l’insouciance de l’enfance, de réaliser leurs rêves, d’aller à l’école, de participer à des activités sportives et récréatives et de construire leur avenir.
Une équipe spécialisée leur procurera des soins médicaux et psychologiques. Elles recevront également une aide juridique si elles décident de poursuivre leurs agresseurs.

Budget total du projet : 1 000 000 €

L’île de Negros est voisine de l’île de Panay

Pourquoi l’île de Negros ?

L’île de Negros est l’une des régions philippines les plus pauvres, où les violences sexuelles sont nombreuses et peu poursuivies ou résolues en justice. On y recense un nombre croissant de violences contre les femmes et les enfants.

Un besoin réel

Aucune institution ou association n’offre une prise en charge aussi complète que celle de CAMELEON. Face à ce constat, le projet d’implantation sur l’île de Negros a muri. En 2014, une étude de faisabilité a été réalisée afin d’évaluer les besoins et les possibilités. Les conclusions de cette étude ont attesté d’un besoin réel et du soutien des associations et autorités locales, notamment grâce à la bonne réputation de CAMELEON, déjà connue dans la région Ouest Visayas.

Rapprocher les enfants de leur famille

L’ouverture d’une nouvelle Maison d’Accueil permettra de rapprocher les bénéficiaires de leurs familles. En effet, 30% des jeunes filles des deux Maisons d’Accueil de l’île de Panay sont originaires de l’île de Negros. La distance complique le travail des assistantes sociales à différents niveaux : suivi des familles, réinsertion des filles dans leur communauté, suivi en post-réhabilitation et enfin accompagnement dans les démarches judiciaires.

Accompagner plus de victimes

En créant cette nouvelle Maison d’Accueil à Negros, CAMELEON entend prendre en charge un nombre toujours plus important de jeunes filles abusées en s’appuyant sur ses différents programmes et le savoir-faire de son personnel. Forte de ses 20 années d’expérience, l’association dupliquera à Negros ses programmes de Réhabilitation ainsi que ses actions de plaidoyer et de sensibilisation aux droits de l’Enfant déjà en place à Panay.

Le contexte : 1 viol toutes les 53 minutes

Aux Philippines, 70% des victimes de viol sont des enfants dont une majorité de jeunes filles. La région 18, où est localisé le projet, a le taux le plus élevé de cas de violences sexuelles sur des enfants. La plupart d’entre eux ne sont cependant jamais signalés par peur du déshonneur familial.

La construction

CAMELEON a débuté la construction de la nouvelle Maison d’Accueil sur l’île de Negros en mars 2018. La ville de Silay nous a offert un terrain d’1 hectare : la ville est voisine de la capitale provinciale Bacolod et se trouve près des écoles. La Maison d’Accueil comprendra plusieurs infrastructures :

  • Bâtiment 1 : Maison d’accueil : dortoirs et sanitaires pour les enfants, chambres pour le personnel encadrant et la fondatrice, pièce à vivre, réfectoire et cuisine, salle d’études, salle de thérapie, bureau des assistantes sociales et mères de substitution, atelier d’art, stockage et cour ouverte. 
  • Bâtiment 2 : bureaux de la directrice, du personnel administratif et financier, salle de réunion, médiathèque, clinique et dortoir pour les bénévoles qui viendront prêter main forte à l’équipe.
  • Bâtiments annexes : Hall de danse/théâtre (« Mariposa Hall »), aire de jeux, poste de surveillance du gardien qui assurera la sécurité des enfants dans la Maison d’Accueil, chambre du chauffeur/homme de maintenance, laverie, parking, réservoir d’eau, route d’accès.

     

Nos partenaires


L’ouverture d’une Maison d’Accueil sur l’île de Negros est activement soutenue par plusieurs institutions et fondations, ainsi que par les autorités philippines :

  • la Province de Negros
  • les services sociaux philippins DSWD de Negros Occidentale
  • la ville de Silay
  • le Zonta Club Makati Ayala
  • le Zonta Environs
  • la Fondation NIF
  • la Fondation Banco de Oro (1ère banque des Philippines)
  • le Ministère des Affaires Etrangères du Luxembourg
  • la Coopération Humanitaire Luxembourg

Vous souhaitez soutenir ce projet

En offrant votre soutien financier et/ou vos compétences, vous aidez CAMELEON à construire un espace fonctionnel et un lieu de vie agréable pour ces jeunes filles victimes de violences sexuelles. Vous soutenez également l’association dans l’accompagnement complet qu’elle leur offre.

Nous contacter, pour plus d’informations : Tel 01 43 22 35 92 / partenariats@cameleon-association.org