Programs in the Philippines

INFORMING

Raising awareness amongst populations, local and national authorities, in order to prevent child sexual abuse and mistreatment.
Contributing to the education of underprivileged children, as well as to the development of families and rural communities. Informing children about violence in the Philippines during school hours. Advocacy towards institutions and leaders.

HEALING

Protecting young girls who suffered sexual abuse, allowing them get medical treatment, and psychological and psychiatric assistance. Helping beneficiary children to rebuild themselves in our centers through an access to education, and therapeutic and extracurricular activities. Supporting young people until they hold a graduate degree, helping them to find their place in society.

BUILDING

Economic and social development through education and training in order to raise awareness about Children’s Rights, and fight against child sexual abuse. Facilitating professional insertion by accompanying communities and families and their children in situation of deep poverty so they are able to reach their full potential.

Study on the impact of our programs
Carried out by the government of Luxembourg

The analysis of qualitative and quantitative results for each program shows that the general well-being of graduated girls is improved. The positive shift in their well-being is systematically observed simultaneously during their healing process, their recovery and their rehabilitation amongst their community. The impact of our programs on general well-being of the beneficiaries and their families are predominantly illustrated by the following aspects:

Good health and recovery after traumatic experiences

Positive overall health and recovery from traumatic experiences of the beneficiaries manifest themselves during the “transition” that those girls undergo from a program to another, until they are considered ready to be reintegrated into their community. During the first two years of their stay within the Rehabilitation Program, data suggests that beneficiaries experience a decrease in the negative effects of a traumatic event. Less medication (for mental diseases), good quality of sleep, normal body mass index and positive feelings of safety are some expressions of the positive effects of the program on girls. The transition from the Rehabilitation Program (In-House) to the Post-Residential Program is also a positive direction, since the beneficiaries undergo evaluations which show a continuous recovery, to the point that they are considered ready to deal and cope with the outside world. Finally, data on alumni of our programs reveal that survivors are emotionally stable after suffering sexual abuse, and become independent members of society.

Educational, financial and legal support

The education of beneficiaries positively impacts their well-being – not only is it a means to reduce the poverty amongst families, but also a means for victims to deal with traumatic experiences. Education also led to the employment of alumni. Legal support resulted in legal actions against the authors of sexual abuse, but due to the problematic judicial system, filing criminal charges and legal proceedings remain major concerns. Financial aid to the beneficiaries’ families has had a positive impact, since they now are able to earn a living. CAMELEON extended this support by rebuilding the houses of the beneficiaries’ families who were stricken by natural disasters such as the Haiyan (Yolanda) Typhoon.

Defending Children’s Rights and Health

The Advocacy Program has a positive impact on the well-being of underprivileged but deserving young people and of their families in the towns where CAMELEON is established. This program offered families scholarships (especially to non-beneficiaries of CAMELEON) and sustainable livelihoods. This program also provided informations on Children’s Rights and Health, as well as campaigns and free services (though limited) in the field of health (conferences, symposia, circus campaign as a way to raise awareness, and medical campaigns such as complete health services for the beneficiaries of our programs, dental care, optometric services.) Concerning the information campaign on Children’s Rights and Health, the lack of available evidence suggests that CAMELEON’s message on protection and promotion of Children’s Rights is welcomed by local communities. Moreover, the implication of quite a few beneficiaries who militate in favor of Children’s Rights and Health has a positive impact on these civic education activities – thanks to them, they gain self-confidence, communication skills and personal satisfaction.

Programmes aux Philippines

PRÉVENIR

Sensibiliser les populations, les autorités locales et nationales afin de prévenir les violences sexuelles et la maltraitance sur les enfants.
Aider à l’éducation des enfants défavorisés ainsi qu’au développement des familles et des communautés rurales. Prévenir au sein des écoles sur les situations de violences aux Philippines. Plaidoyer auprès des institutions et des dirigeants. 

GUÉRIR

Protéger les jeunes filles victimes de violences sexuelles, leur permettre d’avoir un suivi médical et un soutien psychologique et psychiatrique. Aider les enfants bénéficiaires à se reconstruire dans nos maisons d’accueil via un accès à une scolarisation et à des activités thérapeutiques et extrascolaires. Soutenir les jeunes jusqu’à la fin de leurs études supérieures, les aider à trouver leur place dans la société.

CONSTRUIRE

Développer économiquement et socialement, via de l’éducation et de la formation afin de sensibiliser aux droits de l’Enfant et lutter contre les violences sexuelles sur mineurs. Faciliter l’insertion en accompagnant les communautés, les familles et leurs enfants en situation de grande pauvreté afin qu’ils se réalisent professionnellement.

Etude de l’impact de nos programmes 
Réalisé par le gouvernement du Luxembourg

L’analyse des résultats qualitatifs et quantitatifs pour tous les programmes montre que le bien-être général des filles ayant obtenu leur diplôme s’est amélioré. Le changement positif dans leur bien-être est systématiquement observé à la fois pendant leur rétablissement, leur guérison et leur réintégration dans la communauté. Les impacts de nos programmes sur le bien-être général des bénéficiaires et de leurs familles sont notamment illustrés par les aspects suivants :

Bonne santé et récupération après des expériences traumatiques

La santé générale positive et le rétablissement des expériences traumatisantes des bénéficiaires se manifestent dans les «transitions» que ces filles effectuent d’un programme à l’autre jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient jugées prêtes à être réintégrées dans la communauté. Au cours des deux premières années de séjour d’un bénéficiaire du programme Reconstruction Personnelle, les données suggèrent une diminution des effets négatifs d’un incident traumatique. Moins de médicaments (pour les maladies mentales), une bonne qualité de sommeil, des indices de masse corporelle normaux, ainsi que des sentiments positifs de sécurité et de sûreté sont des manifestations des effets positifs du programme sur les filles. Le passage d’un bénéficiaire du programme Reconstruction Personnelle au programme Réinsertion et Autonomie est aussi une orientation positive, car les bénéficiaires sont évalués et ces évaluations montrent une reprise continue à un point tel qu’ils sont jugés prêts à faire face au monde. Enfin, les données sur les anciens de nos programmes révèlent des survivants émotionnellement stables suite aux violences sexuelles subies, et deviennent des membres indépendants de la société.

Soutien éducatif, financier et juridique

L’éducation des bénéficiaires influe de manière positive sur leur bien-être, car c’est un moyen non seulement de réduire la pauvreté des familles, mais également un moyen pour les victimes de faire face à des expériences traumatisantes. L’éducation dispensée a également conduit à l’emploi des anciens élèves. L’appui juridique a donné lieu à des poursuites contre les auteurs des violences sexuelles mais en raison des problèmes du système judiciaire, le dépôt d’inculpations et les poursuites restent des préoccupations majeures. L’aide financière aux familles des bénéficiaires a un impact positif sur celles-ci car elles disposent d’un moyen de gagner leur vie. CAMELEON a étendu ce soutien aux familles des bénéficiaires touchés par des catastrophes naturelles telles que le typhon Haiyan (Yolanda) en reconstruisant des maisons.

Défense des droits et de la santé des enfants

Le programme Prévention et Plaidoyer a un impact positif sur le bien-être des jeunes défavorisés mais méritants et de leurs familles dans les villes où CAMELEON est implanté. Ce programme a offert aux familles des bourses d’études (notamment pour les non bénéficiaires de CAMELEON) et des moyens d’existence. Ce programme a également fourni des informations sur les droits et la santé des enfants, ainsi que des campagnes et des services gratuits (bien que limités) dans le domaine de la santé (conférences, colloques sur la santé, campagne du cirque en tant que campagne de sensibilisation aux droits des enfants et campagnes médicales telles que des services de santé complets pour les bénéficiaires de nos programmes, ainsi que des services gratuits mais limités en soins dentaires et en optométrie). En ce qui concerne la campagne d’information sur les droits de l’enfant et la santé des jeunes, le peu de preuves disponibles suggère que le message de CAMELEON concernant la protection et la promotion des droits de l’enfant est bien accueilli par les communautés locales. De plus, un certain nombre de bénéficiaires qui militent en faveur des droits des enfants et de la santé des jeunes ont un impact positif sur ces activités civiques où ils gagnent en confiance en eux-mêmes, en communication et en satisfaction personnelle.