INFORMING

Community Development

Goal: Supporting the education of underprivileged children as well as the development of families and
of rural communities.

Advocacy

Goal: Raising awareness amongst populations, local and national authorities in order to prevent child sexual abuse and mistreatment.

Community Development Program

Goal: Supporting the education of underprivileged children as well as the development of families and rural communities.


CAMELEON developed a sponsorship program to send underprivileged children aged from 14 to 24 years old to school (80% of girls and 20% of boys.) Families can also be accompanied by following training courses. Changing the mentality of all family members and empowering the beneficiaries will create a positive impact on the child/adolescent, their family and their community. This will thus decrease domestic violence in general and sexual abuse especially upon children. Education and training allow change.

Profile

Children (girls and boys) aged from 14 year s old up to 24 years old       Local populations (young people, families, communities…)
13 villages around Passi

Average duration

2 to 10 years

Location

Passi, San Enrique, Bingawan

Cost per beneficiary for this program: 800€

Education

The organization allows children to go to school, and students to get a higher education or a professional training.

Health

Medical follow-up and monitoring provided (healthcare, vaccination, hospitalization, medical treatments, dental care, information on diseases, appropriate hygiene practices, sex education, etc.)

Development of autonomy


Professional training courses for young people and their parents in the technical schools or in CAMELEON’s Learning Center in Iloilo (IT, English, cooking, sewing, resume writing, mock job interviews, etc.) Help with the development of micro-projects. Support and counseling for an effective job research.

Family Guidance


CAMELEON helps with the implementation of personal micro-projects generating an income by offering parents an initial technical training. The organization teaches and reminds parents their duties and responsibilities as such, trains them to have appropriate parenting practices and skills, parent/children relationships and moral values.
Parents are contributing up to 30% of the additional expenses related to their children’s schooling (class or day trips, excursions…)

Emergency Aid


Assistance to the most underprivileged families in the event of bereavement or accident provided (food aid and emergency aid.)
Assistance in the reconstruction and rehabilitation of housing and other accommodations following natural disasters provided.

Further Information


The organization arranges program monitoring monthly meetings with parent representatives in the 13 villages involved.

2018 Key Figures

in progress…

Testimony

 

 

« Without CAMELEON, I could not study in appropriate conditions. My family encounters too many financial difficulties. CAMELEON helps us, not only by bearing the costs of my studies, but also by helping to repair my house. » Read more

 

– Ella, 17 years old,
second year of College.

Advocacy Program

Goal: Raising awareness amongst populations, local and national authorities in order to prevent child sexual abuse and mistreatment.


CAMELEON is also an advocate of Children’s Rights. Information campaigns aimed at the population and authorities are regularly organized by CAMELEON’s staff. Through prevention, CAMELEON is striving to put a stop to the vicious circle of abuse faced by the young girls the organization is now taking care of.

Profile

Local populations, local authorities, civil society, institutions, medias…

Location

Region VI of the Philippines (Western Visayas), Panay Island and Negros Island. Manila (capital.)

Total Budget of the program: 50 000€

Health

Basic health education (organization of a Health Day, sessions for parents and community leaders, conferences, screening tests and prevention of diseases, STD prevention, learning of appropriate sexual practices as well as the norms for hygiene and nutrition, First Aid training, Young Health facilitator training.)

Raising awareness and Prevention


Defense and promotion of Children’s Rights towards families and local authorities (setting up of an information program, training of 45 “Young ambassadors” for Children Rights, drafting of a local charter of Children’s Rights with the municipalities, mobilization of social services, of both non-governmental and governmental organizations, of businesses, of training and educational institutes, contacting local media for CAMELEON events, etc).
CAMELEON also signed a partnership agreement with the city of Passi to create a Healthcare Center dedicated to sexual education towards teenagers in order to avoid teen pregnancies and STDs.

Circus


Circus is an integral part of CAMELEON programs. This practice is considered therapeutical as it is rewarding, empowering, and allows children to bloom, experience wellness, have fun and build a positive image of themselves. Performances are organized with young female beneficiaries in order to raise awareness of CAMELEON’s causes. The children’s enthusiasm and positive experience deliver a strong message.

Providing support to families


Parenting Education actions (seminars and training courses for parents and local communities.) Teaching parents their responsibilities and duties.

Voice of CAMELEON Children (VCC) or Young Ambassadors of Children’s Rights

In 2014, the organization also set up the Voice of CAMELEON Children (VCC) or Young Ambassadors of Children’s Rights. Young beneficiaries of the Rehabilitation (In-House), Post-Residential, and Community Development programs received a training in public speaking in order to be able to spread CAMELEON’s message in schools and public places. Their role is to explain the significance of Children’s Rights to local populations and communities, a notion that most children and parents in the Philippines are not aware of. Thanks to their 14 interventions in schools and public places, these 30 Young Ambassadors informed 12.500 young people about Children’s Rights and the issue that represents sexual abuse. Local government representatives, teachers and parents are also informed by VCC about mistreatment, sexual abuse, parenthood and parenting. They take part in the reduction of abuse and mistreatment in the region, and encourage victims to report them. Who would be better advocates for Children’s Rights than children themselves? Young Ambassadors or Child Advocates of Children’s Rights are thus a precious means of communication for CAMELEON.

CAMELEON Youth Health Advocates (CYHA) or the Young Ambassadors of Health

On the same model as the VCC, a group of Young Ambassadors of Health called the CYHA (CAMELEON Youth Health Advocates) was created in 2015. The members are also young beneficiaries, boys and girls from 15 to 19 years old who were trained by CAMELEON’s nurse on themes like health and sexuality. Their goal is to raise awareness by reaching and training as many people as possible in communities and villages, whether they are children, adolescents or adults. The 25 young Health Advocates organize campaigns and conferences for communities about health, family planning and sex education. They use the Forum theatre to raise awareness about teen pregnancy amongst teenagers. They also directed a movie called “LINGON” to promote appropriate health practices. In partnership with the Red Cross, they organized a Health Youth Congress. Their role was to limit the cases of teen pregnancies and to inform young people about STDs. Through the creation of CYHA and VCC, CAMELEON wishes to involve young beneficiaries so they can take their destiny in their own hands and become role models for other teenagers. Our role is to prevent the next generation from repeating the same mistakes and offences perpetrated by their parents or their grandparents.

2018 Key Figures

in progress…

Testimony

 

« As Young Ambassadors, our role is to help raise awareness but also to fight against those crimes which are alarming by their number. Help us to put an end to those issues. Help us to listen to these children and to protect younger generations. »

– Elvie, President of the CAMELEON Young Ambassadors Organization Committee

Discover our other programs in the Philippines

HEALING

BUILDING

PRÉVENIR

Education et Développement

Objectif : Aider à l’éducation des enfants défavorisés ainsi qu’au développement des familles et des communautés rurales 

Prévention et Plaidoyer

Objectif : Sensibiliser les populations, les autorités locales et nationales afin de prévenir les violences sexuelles et la maltraitance sur les enfants

Education et Développement

Objectif : Aider à l’éducation des enfants défavorisés ainsi qu’au développement des familles et des communautés rurales 


CAMELEON développe un programme de parrainages scolaires pour les enfants de 14 à 24 ans défavorisés (80% de filles et 20% de garçons). Les familles peuvent également être accompagnées en suivant des formations car c’est en changeant les mentalités de tous les membres de la famille et en responsabilisant les bénéficiaires que l’impact au niveau de l’enfant/du jeune, de sa famille puis dans sa communauté se verra et engendrera moins de violences domestiques en général et de violences sexuelles sur l’enfant en particulier. L’éducation et la formation permettent le changement.

Profil

Enfants (filles et garçons) âgés de 14 à 24 ans.                                  Populations locales (jeunes, familles, communautés…)
13 villages aux alentours de Passi

Durée moyenne

2 à 10 ans

Lieu

Passi, San Enrique, Bingawan

Coût par bénéficiaire pour ce programme : 800€

Education

L’association permet aux enfants d’aller à l’école et aux étudiants de suivre une formation universitaire et/ou professionnelle.

 

Santé

Suivi médical (soins, vaccins, hospitalisation, traitements, dentaires, information sur les maladies, bonnes pratiques en matière d’hygiène, éducation sexuelle, etc.)

Développement de l'autonomie

Formations professionnelles pour les jeunes et les parents dans des écoles techniques ou au Centre d’Apprentissage de CAMELEON à Iloilo (informatique, anglais, cuisine, couture, artisanat, élevage, agriculture, renforcement de compétences, soins esthétiques, paysagisme, rédaction de CV, préparation aux entretiens d’embauche, etc.). Accompagnement au développement de micro-projets. Accompagnement à la recherche d’emploi.

Accompagnement des familles

CAMELEON accompagne également le développement de micro-projets générateurs de revenus, en proposant aux parents une formation technique initiale. L’association enseigne et rappelle aux parents leurs responsabilités parentales et les forme aux bonnes pratiques relations parents/enfants et aux valeurs morales. 
Les parents contribuent à hauteur de 30% aux frais annexes liés à la scolarité de leurs enfants (voyages de classes, sorties…).

Aide d'urgence

Aide aux familles les plus démunies en cas de deuil, d’accident (aide alimentaire et soins d’urgence). Aide à la reconstruction et à la réhabilitation de logements suite aux catastrophes naturelles.

Plus d'information

L’association organise des réunions mensuelles de suivi du programme avec des délégués de parents dans les 13 villages concernés. 

Chiffres-clés 2018

 

Témoignage

 

 

« Sans CAMELEON, je ne pourrais pas étudier correctement. Ma famille a trop de difficultés financières. CAMELEON nous aide, non seulement en prenant en charge mes études, mais aussi pour les réparations de la maison. » Lire la suite

– Ella, 17 ans, en deuxième année d’université

 

Prévention et Plaidoyer

Objectif : Sensibiliser les populations, les autorités locales et nationales afin de prévenir les violences sexuelles et la maltraitance sur les enfants


L’association CAMELEON est également engagée dans des activités de plaidoyer, et de défense et promotion des droits de l’Enfant. Des campagnes d’information sont régulièrement organisées par les équipes de CAMELEON en direction de la population et des autorités. Par la prévention, l’association s’efforce de mettre fin à la spirale de la maltraitance qui frappe les jeunes filles qui lui sont référées.

Profil

Populations locales, autorités locales, société civile, institutions, médias…

Lieu

Région VI des Philippines (Western Visayas) Îles de Panay et de Negros.
Manille (capitale)

Budget total du programme : 50 000 €

Santé

Éducation aux règles de santé primaire (organisation d’une Journée de la Santé, de sessions auprès des parents et des responsables de communautés, de conférences, dépistage et prévention des maladies, prévention des MST, bonnes pratiques en matière de sexualité, d’hygiène et de nutrition, formation aux premiers secours, etc. ; formation de jeunes animateurs Santé).

Sensibilisation et prévention

Défense des droits de l’Enfant auprès des familles et des autorités publiques (mise en place d’un programme d’information, formation de 45 « jeunes ambassadeurs » des droits de l’Enfant, rédaction de Codes des enfants avec les Municipalités, mobilisation des services sociaux, des ONG et des organisations gouvernementales, des entreprises, des établissements de formation et d’enseignement, relais auprès des médias locaux lors événements CAMELEON, etc.)
CAMELEON a par ailleurs signé un partenariat avec la Ville de Passi pour la création d’un Centre de Santé pour adolescents destiné à l’éducation sexuelle afin d’éviter des grossesses précoces et les MST.

Cirque

Le cirque fait partie intégrante des programmes de CAMELEON. C’est une pratique considérée comme thérapeutique car elle est valorisante et permet aux enfants de s’épanouir, de trouver du bien-être, de s’amuser et se construire une image positive. Des spectacles sont organisés avec les jeunes filles bénéficiaires afin de sensibiliser aux causes de CAMELEON. Cela permet de faire passer un message fort grâce à l’enthousiasme et à l’expérience positive qui se ressent auprès de ces enfants.

Accompagnement des familles

Éducation aux responsabilités parentales (séminaires et formations à destination des parents des communautés locales)

Les Voice of Cameleon’s Children (VCC) ou Jeunes Ambassadeurs des droits de l’Enfant

L’association a par ailleurs mis en place, en 2014, l’action Voice of Cameleon’s Children (VCC) ou Ambassadeurs des droits de l’Enfant. De jeunes bénéficiaires des programmes Reconstruction personnelle, Réinsertion et Autonomie et Education et Développement ont été formés à la prise de parole en public pour pouvoir intervenir dans les établissements scolaires et les lieux publics. Leur rôle est d’expliquer aux populations locales l’importance des droits de l’Enfant, notion qu’ignorent la majorité des enfants et des parents aux Philippines. Grâce à leurs 14 interventions dans les établissements scolaires et les lieux publics, les 30 jeunes Ambassadeurs des droits de l’Enfant ont sensibilisé 12 500 jeunes aux droits de l’enfant, ainsi qu’au problème des violences sexuelles. Les élus locaux, professeurs et parents sont également sensibilisés par les VCC sur la maltraitance, les violences sexuelles et la parentalité. Ils participent ainsi à la réduction et au signalement des cas de maltraitance dans la région. Et qui peut mieux défendre les droits de l’Enfant que les enfants eux-mêmes ? Les jeunes Ambassadeurs des droits de l’Enfant ou Child Advocates sont ainsi des relais précieux pour CAMELEON.

Les Cameleon Youth Health Advocates (CYHA) ou Jeunes Ambassadeurs de la Santé

Sur le même modèle que les VCC, un groupe de jeunes Ambassadeurs de la Santé appelé CYHA (Cameleon Youth Health Advocates) a été créé en 2015. Il est également composé de jeunes bénéficiaires, garçons et filles, âgés de 15 à 19 ans qui ont été formés par l’infirmière de CAMELEON sur les thématiques de la santé et de la sexualité. Leur but est de sensibiliser et de former à leur tour le plus grand nombre de personnes, jeunes et adultes, dans les communautés villageoises sur ces thématiques. Les 25 jeunes Ambassadeurs de la santé organisent des campagnes et des conférences dans les communautés sur la santé, le planning familial et l’éducation sexuelle. Ils utilisent le théâtre Forum pour sensibiliser les adolescents aux grossesses précoces. Ils ont aussi réalisé un film « LINGON » pour la promotion des bonnes pratiques de santé. En partenariat avec la Croix Rouge, ils ont organisé un Congrès des Jeunes sur la Santé. Leur rôle est de limiter les cas de grossesses précoces et d’informer sur les Maladies Sexuellement Transmissibles. A travers les CYHA, comme pour les VCC, CAMELEON souhaite impliquer les jeunes bénéficiaires afin qu’ils prennent en main leur destin et soient un modèle pour les autres adolescents. Évitons que la nouvelle génération ne reproduise les erreurs et les interdits perpétrés par leurs parents ou leurs grands parents.

Chiffres-clés 2018

 

Témoignage

 

« Nous, jeunes ambassadeurs, sommes là pour aider à sensibiliser, mais aussi à lutter contre ces crimes qui nous préoccupent et nous alarment par leur nombre. Aidez-nous à mettre fin à ce problème. Aidez-nous à écouter ces enfants et à protéger les jeunes générations »

– Elvie, Présidente du Comité de l’Association des jeunes ambassadeurs de CAMELEON

 

Découvrez nos autres programmes aux Philippines

GUÉRIR

CONSTRUIRE

GUÉRIR

CONSTRUIRE